Paper World success at one of the leading computer animation film festivals

SIGGRAPH 2014 announced the 41st annual Computer Animation Festival award recipients, and Paper World, the 2013 MOME Anim diploma film of Dávid Ringeisen and László Ruska won the Jury Award.

In addition to the winners, more than 100 pieces will be shown during the Computer Animation Festival at the Vancouver Convention Centre, 10-14 August. The 2014 nominees were chosen by an expert panel of jury members from more than 450 submissions.

“Each piece that is in the Festival is truly something special on its own merit,” said Jerome Solomon, SIGGRAPH 2014 Computer Animation Festival Director from Cogswell College. “There’s no other stage in the world comparable to SIGGRAPH’s Computer Animation Festival and this year we have added more categories which only enriches the diversity and richness of the show.”

The trailer of the Festival also presents Paper World (starting at 00:30).

For the entire list of winners, see the SIGGRAPH web site.

Members of the Jury:
Ken Anjyo
OLM Digital, Inc, Tokyo, Japan

Greg Butler
MPC, Vancouver, Canada

Jim Foley
Georgia Tech, Atlanta, Georgia, United States

Evan Goldberg
Walt Disney Animation Studios, Burbank, California, United States

Georgina Hayns
LAIKA, Portland, Oregon, United States

Chris Perry
Hampshire College, Amherst, Massachusetts, United States

Jason RM Smith
SoMa Play, San Francisco, California, United States

Jason Stansell
Sucker Punch Productions, Bellevue, Washington, United States